Home News MMA MMA Roundup: UFC, WSOF Weekend Results

MMA Roundup: UFC, WSOF Weekend Results

(Junior dos Santos is introduced prior to his bout during UFC 160 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, Photo: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports)

The weekend of December 13th was a busy one, naming an inaugural UFC women’s strawweight champion and WSOF welterweight king. We review the main event results and recognize the weekend’s winners.

The Ultimate Fighter: A Champion Will Be Crowned Finale

TUF finalists Carla Esparza and Rose Namajunas competed for the inaugural women’s 115 lb. strawweight title. Namajunas was very aggressive in the opening, but Esparza’s takedowns and dominant ground game proved superior. Namajunas capitalized on the ground game and won the inaugural title by rear-naked choke at 1:26 of the 3rd round.

Main Card

Carla Esparza def. Rose Namajunas via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 3, 1:26

Charles Oliveira def. Jeremy Stephens via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Daron Cruickshank vs. K.J. Noons no-contest (eye poke) – Round 2, 0:25

Yancy Medeiros def. Joe Proctor via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 1, 4:37

Jessica Penne def. Randa Markos via split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)

Preliminary Card

Felice Herrig def. Lisa Ellis via submission (armbar) – Round 2, 3:05

Heather Jo Clark def. Bec Rawlings via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Joanne Calderwood def. Seo Hee Ham via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Tecia Torres def. Angela Magana via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Aisling Daly def. Alex Chambers via submission (armbar) – Round 1, 4:53

Angela Hill def. Emily Kagan via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

UFC on Fox 13: JDS vs. Miocic

Junior Dos Santos vs. Stipe Miocic was everything you could hope for in a heavyweight bout. How either fighter survived a TKO finish is anybody’s guess. Miocic brought the pressure on the former heavyweight champ early, but “Cigano” was able to stick out the punishment and land enough significant strikes to take the judges’ scorecards. JDS took a close unanimous decision after the close of round 5.

Main Card

Junior Dos Santos def. Stipe Miocic  via unanimous decision (48-47, 49-46, 49-46) – Round 5, 5:00

Rafael dos Anjos def. Nate Diaz via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27) – Round 3, 5:00

Alistair Overeem def. Stefan Struve via knockout (punches) – Round 1, 4:13

Matt Mitrione def. Gabriel Gonzaga via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 1:59

Preliminary Card

Joanna Jedrzejczyk def. Claudia Gadelha via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28) – Round 3, 5:00

John Moraga def. Willie Gates via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 3, 4:06

Ben Saunders def. Joe Riggs via submission (injury) – Round 1, 0:57

Jamie Varner def. Drew Dober via submission (rear-naked choke – Round 1, 1:52

Bryan Barberena def. Joe Ellenberger via TKO (strikes) – Round 3, 3:24

David Michaud def. Garett Whiteley via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27) – Round 3, 5:00

Henry Cejudo def. Dustin Kimura via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27) – Round 3, 5:00

Ian Entwistle def. Anthony Birchak via submission (heel hook) – Round 1, 1:04

WSOF 16: Fitch vs. Palhares

UFC veterans Jon Fitch and Rousimar Palhares faced off in WSOF 16 for Palhares’ first welterweight title defense. After an opening striking exchange, Palhares took Fitch down and controlled him where no fighter wants to be. The man known for some of the scariest submissions in MMA added another limb to the victory column and won by a nasty knee bar submission.

Main Card

Rousimar Palhares def. Jon Fitch via submission (knee bar) R1

Lance Palmer def. Rick Glenn via submission (rear-naked choke) R2 3:09

Sheymon Moraes def. Gabriel Solorio via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Josh Berkovic def. Brenson Hansen via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Lewis Gonzalez def. Justin Buchholz via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Preliminary Card

Dave Huckaba def. C.J. Leveque via TKO (punches) (R2, 1:47)

David Mitchell def. Justin Baesman via submission (rear-naked choke) (R1, 1:44)

Dominic Waters def. Martin Sano via unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)

David Douglas vs. Sinjen Smith

Erick Sanchez def. Drey Mitchell via unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)

Jason Powell def. Chris Avila via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Joseph Morales def. Christian Espinosa via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27 x2)