Home MMA Bellator World MMA Awards: Who Won This Sports Top Honors?

World MMA Awards: Who Won This Sports Top Honors?


Last night, from The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nevada, Fighter’s Only held their sixth World Mixed Martial Arts Awards. Regarded as one of the top honors in this sport, the WMMAA have marked the ‘Best of’ the previous year in a multitude of categories including best fighter, best fight, and even best ‘Leading Man’ in the MMA-sphere.

Thanks to Figher’s Only for not only starting an event that shows appreciation for the people who have made this world that MMA fans and professionals inhabit, but also for the results below.

Here is a list of the winners and categories:

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year
Vitor Belfort
Urijah Faber
Demetrious Johnson
Winner: Chris Weidman
Cain Velasquez

Female Fighter of the Year
Joanne Calderwood
Alexis Davis
Jessica Eye
Holly Holm
Winner: Ronda Rousey

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year
Winner: Travis Browne
T.J. Grant
Conor McGregor
Nick Newell
Khabib Nurmagomedov

International Fighter of the Year
Shinya Aoki
Winner: Alexander Gustafsson
Conor McGregor
Khabib Nurmagomedov
Alexander Shlemenko

Fight of the Year
Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
Winner: Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

Knockout of the Year
Winner: Vitor Belfort (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC on FX 8)
Junior Dos Santos (vs. Mark Hunt, UFC 160)
Emanuel Newton (vs. “King Mo” Lawal, Bellator 90)
Julio Cesar Neves Jr. (vs. Dener Dos Santos, WOCS 28)
Chris Weidman (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC 162)

Submission of the Year
Olivier Fontaine (vs. Sofian Benchohra, Lyon FC)
Josh Burkman (vs. Jon Fitch, WSOF 3)
Winner: Urijah Faber (vs. Ivan Menjivar, UFC 157)
Rose Namajunas (vs. Kathina Catron, Invicta 5)
Kenny Robertson (vs. Brock Jardine, UFC 157)

Comeback of the Year
Winner: Travis Browne (vs. Alistair Overeem, UFC Fight Night 26)
Blagoi Ivanov (career)
Robbie Lawler (career)
Michelle Waterson (vs. Jessica Penne, Invicta 5)
Tom Watson (vs. Stanislav Nedkov, UFC on Fuel TV 7)

Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year
Henri Hooft
Winner: Duane Ludwig
Ray Longo
Andre Pederneiras
Duke Roufus

Gym of the Year
Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
Nova Uniao
Winner: Team Alpha Male

Trainer of the Year
Doug Balzarini
Jake Bonacci
Jonathan Chaimberg
Winner: Mike Dolce
Joel Jamieson

Referee of the Year
Winner: Herb Dean
Marc Goddard
Yves Lavigne
John McCarthy
Mario Yamasaki

Ringcard Girl of the Year
Jade Bryce
Arianny Celeste
Kat Kelley
Winner: Brittney Palmer
Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man
Victor Cui
Lorenzo Fertitta
Bjorn Rebney
Ray Sefo
Winner: Dana White

Personality of the Year
Bruce Buffer
Kenny Florian
Joe Rogan
Bas Rutten
Winner: Chael Sonnen

Best Promotion
Bellator MMA
Cage Warriors
Winner: UFC

Media Source of the Year
Inside MMA (AXS TV)
Winner: MMA Fighting
UFC Tonight (Fox Sports)

Journalist of the Year
Mike Chiappetta (Fox Sports)
Gareth A Davies (The Daily Telegraph/Fox Sports)
Ben Fowlkes (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)
Winner: Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting/Fox Sports)
John Morgan (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)

Best Lifestyle Clothing
Winner: Bad Boy
Fear the Fighter
Roots of Fight

Best Technical Clothing
Bad Boy
Clinch Gear
Winner: Venum

Best Technical Equipment
Winner: Bad Boy


For updates on the latest MMA news visit SciFighting.com